Skip to content Skip to footer

Seventh Summit of the Americas in Panama

If there was a winner for the successful Summit of The Americas of all Latin American countries two weeks ago, was definitely Panama.

Panama was the perfect host and his President Juan Carlos Varela. With the largest Bank center of the region, The largest hub of the Americas with COPA and its international connections, the Free Zone, The Panama Canal, the Tourist Industry constantly growing, US currency and most of all its people.


President Obama took advantage of the opportunity to begin the path to a new relationship with Cuba and Raul Castro.

This is the beginning of a new ball game of breakthrough of new commercial markets, which where closed for more than 50 years. I am sure many businessmen are going to get on board of this new venture wagon.


Mark Zuckerberg, did not loose the opportunity to use the Summit as a venue to expand his social work with his great ability now as philanthropy up comer.

Carlos Slim, the second richest man also took advantages of the momentum and was able to sit down with business leaders of the region to discuss potential projects.

The benefits of the Summit as already began by President Obama making official the withdrawal of Cuba from the list of countries of potential terrorism.

The Cuban people has received this news with great happiness and are hopeful of better days for the Island and the financial situation that has been exhausting for the last 50 years.


Panama has moved on back to regular business, which has been highly benefitted from the added value of the presence of all the leaders of the region and visitors.

We must remember Panama and United States has sign a free trade agreement between both nations and it is beginning to show results.

List of participants countries and Head of State:

Summary of Leaders
Flag and CountryHead of State / Government
 Antigua and BarbudaPrime Minister Gaston Browne
 ArgentinaPresident Cristina Fernández de Kirchner
 BahamasPrime Minister Perry Christie
 BarbadosPrime Minister Freundel Stuart
 BelizePrime Minister Dean Barrow
 BoliviaPresident Evo Morales
 BrazilPresident Dilma Rousseff
 CanadaPrime Minister Stephen Harper
 ChileChancellor Heraldo Muñoz
 ColombiaPresident Juan Manuel Santos
 Costa RicaPresident Luis Guillermo Solís
 CubaPresident Raúl Castro
 DominicaPrime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit
 Dominican RepublicPresident Danilo Medina
 EcuadorPresident Rafael Correa
 El SalvadorPresident Salvador Sánchez Cerén
 GrenadaPrime Minister Keith Mitchell
 GuatemalaPresident Otto Pérez Molina
 GuyanaPresident Donald Ramotar
 HaitiPresident Michel Joseph Martelly
 HondurasPresident Juan Orlando Hernández
 JamaicaPrime Minister Portia Simpson Miller
 MexicoPresident Enrique Peña Nieto
 NicaraguaPresident Daniel Ortega
 PanamaPresident Juan Carlos Varela
 ParaguayPresident Horacio Cartes
 PeruPresident Ollanta Humala
 Saint Kitts and NevisPrime Minister Timothy Harris
 Saint LuciaPrime Minister Kenny Anthony
 Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesPrime Minister Ralph Gonsalves
 SurinamePresident Dési Bouterse
 Trinidad and TobagoPrime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar
 United States of AmericaPresident Barack Obama
 UruguayPresident Tabaré Vázquez
 VenezuelaPresident Nicolás Maduro


Leave a comment